Automatic 5% Counties and Oklahoma Opportunity Zones 2010-2011

The Oklahoma Quality Jobs Act and the Oklahoma Small Employer Quality Jobs Act offer specific benefits for companies locating in certain economically distressed geographic areas.

For the Quality Jobs Program, companies locating in "Automatic 5% Counties" may qualify for a 5% net benefit rate. Within "Opportunity Zones", in addition to a 5% net benefit rate, average wage requirements may be waived in the Quality Jobs Program. Other thresholds will still need to be met in order for a company to qualify for the Quality Jobs Program.

For the Small Employer Quality Jobs Program, a small employer may only locate in a high population county (Oklahoma, Tulsa, and Cleveland counties) if such location is in an Opportunity Zone. A small employer will not need to locate in an Opportunity Zone to qualify for the program if it locates in any of the state's 74 other counties. Other thresholds will still need to be met in order for a company to qualify for the Small Employer Quality Jobs Program.

- Generally, an Automatic 5% County is:
 - o Reviewed once every year
 - o Includes all areas within a County where:
 - The County's Per Capita Income is 15% or more below the Oklahoma Per Capita Income, OR
 - The County as a whole has experienced a decrease in population over the last 10 years, OR
 - The County's unemployment rate exceeds the lesser of 5% or 2 percentage points above the state average unemployment rate.
- The legal definition of an Opportunity Zone can be found in Oklahoma Statutes Title 68, Section 3603 Definitions, but generally an Opportunity Zone is:
 - o Reviewed once every ten years,
 - o Includes individual Census Tracts where:
 - 30% or more of the population lives below poverty

If you have questions about the benefits of locating within an Automatic 5% County or an Opportunity Zone, you can obtain a copy of the latest Business Incentives and Tax Information Guide by going to www.okcommerce.gov or by contacting the Oklahoma Department of Commerce at 1-800-879-6552. If you have questions about which areas in Oklahoma qualify as Automatic 5% Counties or as Opportunity Zones, contact Sohail Hasanjee with the Oklahoma Department of Commerce by e-mail at sohail hasanjee@okcommerce.gov or by phone at (405) 815-5176.

1. AUTOMATIC 5% COUNTIES, EFFECTIVE JUNE 1, 2010 TO MAY 31, 2011

The areas designated as Automatic 5% Counties under this section are reviewed annually and may change from year to year. The following Counties in their entirety are recognized.

Automatic 5% Counties			
Adair	Grady	Noble	
Alfalfa	Grant	Nowata	
Atoka	Greer	Okfuskee	
Beaver	Harmon	Oklahoma	
Beckham	Harper	Okmulgee	
Blaine	Haskell	Osage	
Bryan	Hughes	Ottawa	
Caddo	Jackson	Pawnee	
Canadian	Jefferson	Payne	
Carter	Johnston	Pittsburg	
Cherokee	Kay	Pontotoc	
Choctaw	Kingfisher	Pottawatomie	
Cimarron	Kiowa	Pushmataha	
Cleveland	Latimer	Roger Mills	
Coal	Le Flore	Rogers	
Comanche	Lincoln	Seminole	
Cotton	Logan	Sequoyah	
Craig	Love	Stephens	
Creek	McClain	Texas	
Custer	McCurtain	Tillman	
Delaware	McIntosh	Tulsa	
Dewey	Major	Wagoner	
Ellis	Marshall	Washington	
Garfield	Mayes	Washita	
Garvin	Muskogee	Woodward	

2. OPPORTUNITY ZONES BY CENSUS TRACT

The areas under this section are reviewed every 10 years with the release of new decennial Census data. The following Census Tracts are recognized as Opportunity Zones because at least 30% of the residents live in households where the gross income is below the poverty level.

Opportunity Zones			
by Census Tract			
(note leading zeros			
may be dropped by			
some sources)			
Bryan County *	Jackson County *	Oklahoma County (cont)	Pittsburg County *
9964	9687	1034	9863
Canadian County	McCurtain County *	1035	Pontotoc County *
3004	9986	1036.01	9891
Cherokee County *	9987	1036.02	Pottawatomie County *
9780	Muskogee County *	1037	5002
Choctaw County *	0002	1038	Tulsa County
9972	0004	1039	0003
Cleveland County	Oklahoma County	1041	0005
2007	1004	1043	0006
2012.01	1005	1045	0009
2012.02	1008	1046	0013
2012.03	1010	1047	0021
Comanche County *	1012	1056	0023
0008	1014	1057	0025
0012	1015	1058	0046
0013	1024	1063.01	0062
0016	1025	1069.12	0068.01
0019.02	1026	1080.11	0080.01
Custer County *	1027	1088.03	0091.01
9606	1028	Payne County *	0111
Grady County *	1030	0102	Washington County
0001	1031.01	0103	0002
0002	1031.02	0104	0009
Hughes County *	1032	0105	
9846	1033	0107	

^{*} County is also an Automatic 5% County.

3. DETERMINING A CENSUS TRACT, BASED ON ADDRESS

If you have an address but not a Census Tract number, you can find the Census Tract by following these steps:

Address based search

- a) Go to http://factfinder.census.gov/home/saff/main.html?_lang=en .
- **b)** In the lower left corner of the screen you should find a box labeled "Address Search...".
- c) Click on "street address".
- **d**) The page will refresh, defaulting to a tab labeled "address search" (other options include "list", "name search", and "map").
- e) Enter the address information in the yellow boxes and press the "Go" button.
- f) The page will refresh with detailed geographic information.
- g) Note the County and the Census Tract.
- h) Look in the following table first for that County, then for that Census Tract.

If you still cannot determine which Census Tract is appropriate, contact Sohail Hasanjee with the Oklahoma Department of Commerce by e-mail at sohail_hasanjee@okcommerce.gov or by phone at (405) 815-5176.